I’ve been meaning to do a post on grammar for a while.  But, man, grammar is just so boring.  Copyblogger found a way to jazz it up a little with the Inigo Montoya Guide to 27 Commonly Misused Words.  I highly recommend checking it out.  And a few of my own to add:

*lightening vs. lightning – Lightening makes something lighter. Lightning is the flash in the sky; there is no e.  Ever. 

*vise vs. vice – A vise squeezes something (i.e. a viselike grip). A vice is an unhealthy habit.  I saw a heroine “in the vice of fear” in a book I was reading on the subway this morning and it completely pulled me out of the story.

*Then is not a conjunction like and and but. If you have two complete sentences on each side, you need to make them two separate sentences or put in a semicolon.  
      *Wrong: I will go to the store, then I will make dinner.
      *Right: I will go to the store. Then I will make dinner.
             or: I will go to the store, then make dinner

In small doses, grammar isn’t so bad, right?

 

